Any use of the title "Respiratory Therapist" or "Respiratory Therapy Technician" within New York State requires licensure.
To be licensed as a Respiratory Therapist or Respiratory Therapy Technician in New York State you must:
- be of good moral character;
- be at least 18 years of age; and
- meet education and examination requirements.
You must submit an application for licensure and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.
You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.
- The fee for licensure for respiratory therapist is $294.
- The fee for licensure for respiratory therapy technician is $154.
- The fee for a limited permit for a respiratory therapist is $70 (the limited permit fee is not refundable).
- The fee for a limited permit for a respiratory therapy technician is $50 (the limited permit fee is not refundable).
The fee listed is the fee in place when this page was posted. Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.
- Do not send cash.
- If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, you will be required to pay by credit card.
- Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
- Mail any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form.
NOTE: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.
Individuals who withdraw their licensure application may be entitled to a partial refund.
- For the procedure to withdraw your application, contact the Respiratory Therapy Unit at email@example.com or by calling 518-474-3817 ext. 270 or by fax at 518-402-5354.
- The State Education Department is not responsible for any fees paid to an outside testing or credentials verification agency.
If you withdraw your application, obtain a refund, and then decide to seek New York State licensure at a later date, you will be considered a new applicant, and you will be required to pay the licensure application and registration fees and meet the licensure requirements in place at the time you reapply.
Respiratory Therapy Applicants
You must have graduated from high school, or the equivalent, and completed an approved associate degree program in respiratory therapy or another degree program in respiratory therapy determined by the Department to be equivalent.
Respiratory Therapy Technician Applicants
You must have graduated from high school, or the equivalent, and completed an approved one-year certificate program in respiratory therapy technology or a respiratory program determined by the Department to be equivalent.
New York State Licensure Qualifying or Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC) Accredited Programs
If, at the time of your graduation, you completed a New York State licensure qualifying program or a program accredited by CoARC, submit Form 2 to your school and have your school complete and return the form directly to the Office of the Professions at the address at the end of the form.
This site has a listing of current New York State licensure qualifying programs. If your program is in New York State and is not listed on this site, contact your school to determine if it is a NYS licensure qualifying program.
For a listing of nationally accredited programs, contact the Committee on Accreditation for Respiratory Care (CoARC) [formerly the Joint Review Committee for Respiratory Therapy Education] which is the national accrediting agency for all schools of respiratory care in the United States. CoARC can be reached at:
P.O Box 54876
Hurst, TX 76054-4876
Phone : 817-283-2835
Non-New York State Licensure Qualifying or Non-CoARC Accredited Programs
If, at the time of your graduation, you completed a non-NYS Licensure Qualifying Program or a program not accredited by CoARC, you must have your education approved by the Department. Submit Form 2 to your school and have your school complete and return the form along with an official transcript and other needed information directly to the Office of the Professions at the address at the end of the form.
Respiratory Therapist Applicants:
U.S. and all foreign-educated applicants must pass the National Board for Respiratory Care (NBRC) Certified Respiratory Therapist examination (CRT) and the Registry Examination (RRT) (written and simulation exams).
Respiratory Therapy Technician Applicants:
You must pass the NBRC Certified Respiratory Therapist examination (CRT).
All applicants must contact NBRC to have their exam results forwarded to:
New York State Education Department
Office of the Professions
Division of Professional Licensing Services
Respiratory Therapy Unit
89 Washington Avenue
Albany, NY 12234-1000.
You may contact the NBRC at:
Reasonable Testing Accommodations
If you seek reasonable testing accommodations, please complete the Request for Special Examination Accommodations form included in the NBRC Candidate Handbook and submit it to NBRC with your credentialing examination application.
In addition to filing the Form 5 and the limited permit fee, you must also submit the Application for Licensure (Form 1), the licensure fee, and have the New York State Education Department approve your education before your application for a limited permit can be approved.
You may apply for a limited permit if you meet all other requirements for licensure in New York State except the licensing examination.
Limited permit practice must be under the supervision of a currently registered New York State licensed respiratory therapist or an otherwise legally authorized physician.
Your limited permit will expire one year from the date of issuance or upon notice that your application for licensure has been denied, or ten days after you have been notified that you failed the professional licensing examination, whichever occurs first. However, if you are awaiting the results of the licensing examination when your limited permit expires, your permit will continue to be valid until ten days after you have been notified of the examination results.