Skip to main content
Welcome to the Office of the Professions’ newly redesigned website. Portions of this site may still be under development, so if you experience any issues or have any questions please submit a Website Feedback Form.
  • NYSED Homepage
  • Disclaimer
  • Contact Us
  • NYSED Employment
  • Board Members Only

Provisional Permit Requirements for Clinical Laboratory Technologists

Important Notice: DO NOT use Form 1 if you are already licensed in this profession in New York State. A New York State professional license is valid for life unless it is revoked, annulled, or suspended by the Board of Regents. To practice in New York State, your professional license must be registered. To renew your registration online, visit If your registration has lapsed for longer than 4 months, submit a Delayed Registration Application.

Applicant Checklist: You may print and keep this clinical lab technologist checklist or this clinical laboratory technician checklist as a reminder of what forms you need to file. This is for your reference and should not be submitted with your application forms. You should also keep a copy of all application forms submitted.

On the recommendation of the board, the department may issue a provisional permit to practice as a clinical laboratory practitioner to an applicant who is employed in a clinical laboratory to enable the applicant to complete the education requirements and/or to pass the exam required for licensure as a clinical laboratory technologist or histological technician. To be issued a provisional permit, the applicant must meet the requirements outlined in Section 8608(2)(b) of Education Law. Once issued, the provisional permit holder must practice under the general supervision of the director of a clinical laboratory, as determined by the department.

The provisional permit is valid for a period of not more than one year, and may be renewed, at the discretion of the department, for one additional year.

To receive a provisional permit as a clinical laboratory technologist or as a certified histological technician in New York State, you must meet all requirements, including:

  • be of good moral character;
  • be at least 18 years of age; and;
  • have at least one of the required qualifications.

You must file an application for provisional permit (Form 5N) and the other forms indicated, along with the appropriate fee, to the Office of the Professions at the address specified on each form. It is your responsibility to follow up with anyone you have asked to send us material.

The specific requirements for provisional permit are contained in Title 8, Article 165, Section 8608 of New York's Education Law.

Each provisional permit shall be subject to the disciplinary provisions applicable to licensees pursuant to Subarticle three of Article one hundred thirty of this title.

You should also read the general licensing information applicable for all professions.

The fee for a clinical laboratory technologist provisional permit is $345.

The fee for a certified histological technician provisional permit is $245.

Fees are subject to change. The fee due is the one in law when your application is received (unless fees are increased retroactively). You will be billed for the difference if fees have been increased.

  • Do not send cash.
  • If you apply for licensure electronically using the online Application for Licensure, you will be required to pay by credit card.
  • Other payments must be made by personal check or money order payable to the New York State Education Department. Your cancelled check is your receipt.
  • Mail any required forms and fees to the indicated address on the form:

NYS Education Department
Office of the Professions
PO Box 22063
Albany, NY 12201

Please Note: Payment submitted from outside the United States should be made by check or draft on a United States bank and in United States currency; payments submitted in any other form will not be accepted and will be returned.

To receive a provisional permit, the applicant must document at least one of the following qualifications:

Clinical Laboratory Technologist

  1. be licensed as a clinical laboratory technologist, or the equivalent as determined by the department, in another jurisdiction (Form 3PP)
  2. possess a current certification in clinical laboratory technology from a national certification organization acceptable to the department, including the American Society for Clinical Pathology (ASCP), American Association of Bioanalysts (AAB), AABB (formerly American Association of Blood Banks), and American Medical Technologists (AMT) (Contact the certifying body and request that an official verification of your certification be sent to the department)
  3. have both:
    • a bachelor's degree in the biological, chemical, or physical sciences (Form 2PP), and
    • training in a clinical laboratory, provided that such education and training are acceptable to the department (Form 4PP)
  4. have both:
    • a bachelor's degree in the biological, chemical, or physical sciences or in mathematics (Form 2PP), and
    • have served as a research assistant in a research laboratory, under the direction of the director or the principal researcher of such research laboratory, working on the research and development of any procedures and examinations to be conducted by a laboratory, as defined in title five of article five of the public health law, on material derived from the human body which provides information for the diagnosis, prevention or treatment of a disease or assessment of a human medical condition (Form 4PP)

Certified Histological Technician:

  • Have received an education, including an associate's degree that includes a minimum of 15 credit hours in the biological, chemical, or physical sciences, provided that such education is acceptable to the Department.

Form 5N identifies the director of the clinical laboratory who has responsibility for providing general supervision of the applicant's work while under the provisional permit.

This form includes a signed statement by the director of the clinical laboratory certifying that he or she will provide general supervision of the applicant's experience. If a director cannot carry out his or her duties, or is replaced by a new or interim director, the provisional permit holder shall submit a new Form 5N from the new director who has assumed supervisory responsibility of the permit holder.

The general supervision of the provisional permit holder shall be consistent with the supervision of a person holding a limited permit as a clinical laboratory technologist or certified histological technician, as follows:

  • the general supervision of the director of the clinical laboratory shall mean that the permit holder shall be supervised by the director of the clinical laboratory who shall serve the laboratory full-time, or on a regular part-time basis;
  • the director of the clinical laboratory shall ensure the supervision of the technical performance of the permit holder, and be readily available for consultation with the permit holder, as needed; and
  • the director shall be responsible for the performance and findings of all tests carried out by the provisional permit holder, either by directly overseeing such testing, or by delegating this responsibility to authorized qualified supervisors who are on site within the laboratory.